Monday, 11 May 2009

Lingvo Leĝoj Malobserviĝas

…de Radio Telefís Éireann:

The Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs is one of six Government departments found to be in breach of legislation promoting and protecting the Irish language.

The other departments were the Department of the Environment, Heritage & Local Government, the Department of Social & Family Affairs, the Department of Justice, Equality & Law Reform, the Department of Education & Science, and the Department of Transport.

Nearly 600 new complaints were made to An Coimisinéir Teanga Seán Ó Cuirreáin's office by members of the public concerning difficulties in accessing State services through Irish during the year.

The Government departments found to have breached elements of language legislation included the Department of the Gaeltacht, which acts as the legislation watchdog...

No comments: